Carter's Charity Primary School

Curriculum Background

Staff at Carter’s Charity Primary School use a broad and varied approach to promote the teaching and learning for all of our children.


Staff have worked hard to develop a creative approach to teaching and learning throughout the school based on key skills.  This has led to a more topic-based, creative curriculum throughout the school which places value on the wide range of ways children engage in learning.  We are continuing this methodology as we implement the new curriculum in September 2014.


Our values programme supports teaching and learning across the school and its structure can be seen below. Each term there will be a focus a different values using a 2 year cycle.

Foundation Stage – Reception

Children entering Reception have access to the EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum.


It is based on three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three characteristics of effective learning set out below:


The prime areas of learning:

1. Communication and language

2. Physical development

3. Personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas of learning:

1. Literacy

2. Maths

3. Understanding the world

4. Expressive arts and design

Characteristics of effective learning:

1. Playing and exploring

2. Active learning

3. Creative and thinking critically


Much of the children’s learning takes place through structured play both in and out of doors.  This is guided by the Foundation Stage staff and also places high value on incorporating child-initiated activities.


Key Stage 1 (Years 1 & 2) and Key Stage 2 (Years 3 – 6)

The National Curriculum provides a framework for teaching key skills that our children are taught from Year 1- Year 6.  These are taught through different subjects and focus areas.  The staff at Carter’s Charity Primary has developed these through themes and topics on a two-year rolling programme.


In September 2014, all children will be taught following the objectives set in the Curriculum 2014 statutory document.  However, Years 2 and 6 will continue to be taught following the previous curriculum in English and Maths for one more year.


Through these themes and topics, the skills in each of the following subject areas are developed:

  • English 
    • Spoken Language
    • Reading (word reading, comprehension)
    • Writing (transcription, composition, vocabulary, grammar and punctuation)
  • Maths   
  • Number
  • Measurement
  • Geometry (shape and space)
  • Statistics
  • Problem solving and reasoning will feature throughout teaching.
  • Scientific Enquiry
  • Life Processes and Living Things
  • Materials & their Properties
  • Physical Processes
  • Science
  • Computing
  • Religious Education (R.E.)
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art
  • Design Technology (D.T.)
  • Music
  • Physical Education (P.E.)
  • Modern Foreign Language – French
  • Personal Health and Social Education (P.H.S.E.)


Information about topic themes each term is shared with parents, carers and the school community to inform them about what pupils are learning.